Bet Shraga Hebrew Academy Awards

The Bet Shraga Hebrew Academy Awards is a special tribute to our outstanding alumni and an acknowledgement of the highest standards our school has always placed on personal, spiritual, academic and professional achievement.

This year we will be honoring two distinguished and accomplished alumni who so beautifully exemplify the high standards that the Hebrew Academy of the Capital District has always placed on personal, spiritual, academic and professional achievement.

Rabbi Saul Strosberg (’92)


Jason Kay, PhD (’96)

In addition to our honorees, our keynote speaker will be developmental psychologist and past honoree, Nava R. Silton, PhD. As the creator of Addy & Uno, the first family musical about disability, bullying and friendship, Nava will speak about her foray into children’s media and literature and will share a sneak peek from her critically acclaimed off Broadway show.

This year, our Academy Awards will be held on Thursday, May 3, 2018 at Congregation Beth Abraham Jacob.

Please join us in paying tribute to the stars among us who are making strides in shaping the global community’s future with their outstanding accomplishments.

2017 Honorees

Dan Bernstein
Class of 1997

Jason Packer
Class of 1992

Elena Rosenbaum
Class of 1990

Jessica Kriss Saratovsky
Class of 1995

Rabbi Lawrence Teitelman
Class of 1982

2016 Honorees

Shira Arcus
Class of 1997

Michael Kay
Class of 1993

Jay Lefkowitz
Class of 1980

Dan Scher
Class of 1997

Julie Thaler (née Rosenthal)
Class of 1990

2015 Honorees

Nava Brandwein (née Silton)
Class of 1995

Jason Brzoska
Class of 1994

David Kriegel
Class of 1979

Adriana Schaffer
Class of 2007

Ruthie Simon (née Strosberg)
Class of 1990

Gail Schwartz
Teacher Honoree

2014 Honorees

Yosef Birnboim
Class of 1991

Shira Ginsburg
Class of 1991

Deborah Isser
Class of 1983

David Katz
Class of 1993

David Morrison
Class of 1994

Avi Rasowsky
Class of 1997

Simcha Pearl
10th Grade Class of 1974

Nomination Form

Each year, through open nominations, we select individuals who are alumni of the Hebrew Academy and making a difference in others' lives. Our honorees are leaders and emerging leaders in business, politics, the arts and sciences, nonprofit organizations, Jewish education, technology, ecology, and community involvement.

Nominations for Academy Award nominees may be made at any time during the year. Selected honorees are notified 3-4 months prior to the Academy Awards.

©2017 Bet Shraga Hebrew Academy of the Capital District